RSS

Memorable Movie Quotes…

05 Jun

I’ve just read an article about ‘Top Movie Quotes’ and it got me to thinking… Does the memorable quote or catchphrase prove the movie’s success?
Most quotes remind us of the film and also the character and actor that said them. We even feel compelled to repeat the line in the same accent (often badly!) I’ve even heard 12 year olds say (in true Arnie style!) “I’ll be back” but they probably haven’t ever seen Terminator but they know the line and how it’s said.
I just asked my best friend for his favourite movie quotes and he reeled off one after the other, in the accents and voices of the characters that delivered the lines, my 12 year old could name quite a few of the films and the actors that said the quotes and catchphrases even though he hadn’t seen any of the films.
To me, I think it’s more about whether the quote is thought provoking, inspiring or just plain hysterical. We have that moment in a film where we connect with the character and often it’s when you hear ‘that line’. It’s partly down to genius writing and partly down to perfect delivery, some actors have it and some just don’t. Arnold Shwarzenegger, Al Pacino and Jack Nicholson all have that talent, which is why we remember so many of their lines.
I love those quotes and quips that stick in your head, those ones you’re thinking of as you’re leaving the cinema.
My favourites are the ones that you have to ‘become’ the character for when you say the line!

My Top Twenty Movie Quotes.

1) “I’ll have what she’s having” That classic moment when the woman in the restaurant turns to the waiter and makes her ‘order’ in When Harry Met Sally (1989)
2) “Go ahead, make my day” Clint Eastwood as Harry Callaghan in Sudden Impact (1983)
3) “You talkin’ to me?” A very young Robert DeNiro as Travis Bickle in Taxi Driver (1976)
4) “Say hello to my little friend” I can’t do this list without mentioning my husband’s favourite film! We all know this Al Pacino line as Tony Montana from Scarface (1983)
5) “Heeeeeeeere’s Johnny!” Eek!! Thinking of Jack Nicholson as Jack Torrance delivering this classic line still makes me shiver! The Shining (1980)
6) “Everything you done to me, already done to you” Whoopi Goldberg as Miss Celie always brings a tear to my eye in The Color Purple (1985)
7) “Yo Adrienne” Sylvester Stallone as Rocky Balboa in another of my husband’s favourite movies, Rocky (1976)
8) “You call that a knife? That’s not a knife. This is a knife” we all attempt the Aussie accent of Paul Hogan as Michael ‘Crocodile’Dundee from Crocodile Dundee (1986)
9) “Frankly My dear, I don’t give a damn” Clark Gable as Rhett Butler in Gone With the Wind (1939)
10) “You can’t handle the truth” I love Col Nathan Jessup played by Jack Nicholson in A Few Good Men (1992)
11) “Shwing!” Brilliant Mike Myers as Wayne Campbell in Wayne’s World (1992)
12) “Do or do not. There is no try” This Yoda quote is brilliant. from Star Wars Episode V, The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
13) “My mama always said, life was like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get” Tom Hanks had so many memorable quotes as Forrest Gump in the movie Forrest Gump (1994)
14) “Every man dies but not every man really lives” Mel Gibson as William Wallace in Braveheart (1995)
15) “Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times when one only remembers to turn on the light.” Michael Gambon as Professor Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)
16) “I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti” Sir Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal Lecter in Silence of the Lambs (1991)
17) “I’m going to make him an offer he can’t refuse” Marlon Brando as Don Vito Corleone in The Godfather (1972)
18) “You’re only supposed to blow the bloody doors off!” Sir Michael Caine as Charlie Croker in The Italian Job (1969)
19) “My precious” Andy Serkis as Gollum in Lord of the Rings The Two Towers (2002)
20) “To infinity and beyond!” Of course it’s Buzz Lightyear from Toy Story (1995)

Did you do the voices too?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 5, 2012 in Thoughts

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
